By Michael Iwahiro

A good walk was not spoiled when 100 or so enthusiasts (and golfers) scrambled up and down the fairways and greens of the Lincoln, California Turkey Creek Golf course on a fine Sunday in September. Participants were up and at ’em for the traditional early morning shotgun start, all raring to go in support of the ABAS Law Foundation and tournament co-host, Sacramento Barons Athletic Organization. The good work of the Foundation this year includes awarding $19,000 in scholarships to Pacific McGeorge, Lincoln, and UC Davis law school students, and ongoing support of the Tule Lake research and book project being co-authored by Sacramento’s own Barbara Takei, recent recipient of the 2016 National Parks Conservation Association Marjory Stoneman Douglas Award. The award recognizes Takei for her work to ensure protection of the national monument Tule Lake Segregation Center, the largest and perhaps most controversial of the sites where Japanese Americans were incarcerated during World War II. More about the Tule Lake book project can be found at the Foundation’s website: www.abaslawfoundation.org.

An added draw this year was the support of Sacramento Mayor-Elect Darrell Steinberg, who served as the tournament’s honorary co-chair. Three-par hole number 14 was dedicated in his honor as the “Beat the Mayor” hole, providing not only a special fund raising opportunity but a chance for participants to claim golf bragging rights over the Mayor-to-Be. “Yo, I beat the Mayor.” All in good fun, of course, and for a most worthy cause. Special thanks to Mayor-Elect Steinberg.

The grand champion and claimant of the BIG trophy was the foursome put forth by first time tournament sponsor, Phoong Law. A sizzling 55 was recorded by team members Lisa Mayberry, Kellan Mayberry, Adam Horn, and Jesse Hackett. In the highly competitive President’s Division, top honors were awarded to perennial favorite and defending champion, Team McGeorge, comprised of Prof. Ed Telfeyan, Sherman Cole, Conrad Harder, and Anton Babich. Golfers John Holsdet, Stuart Woo, and James Sim placed first in the Director’s Division, carding a very respectable 64. Hats off and three cheers for all champions. Woo-hoo to everyone else. Incidentally, no score was reported for Team Tsuyuki (Steve Tsuyuki, Issac Choy, Chris Powell, and Kristopher Kent). Presumably, they are still on course.

And so another successful ABAS fundraising golf tournament is in the record books. Twenty-eight years running is indeed a remarkable achievement. Early tournament organizers, Judge Mike Nakagawa, Bob Tokunaga, and Clay Tanaka left quite a legacy. Current day chair Jeri Paik and her committee of Eric Dair, Sean Wong, Lisa Mayberry, Clay Tanaka, and Mike Iwahiro have worked hard these past years to keep the tournament going strong. Undoubtedly plans are being made for ABAS Golf Invitational No. 29. As always, sincere thanks go out to our loyal and generous sponsors, golfers and volunteers. We do not take for granted that you choose to say “yes” when called upon for support.