Barons and Barristers – The 2015 Golf Tournament Wrap Up Report

Tee Off

Tee Off




2015 Golf Tournament Report

By Mike Iwahiro, Golf Committee Vice-Chair

Co-Hosting Works

Barons and barristers proved to be the right combination for the 27th Annual ABAS Golf Invitational held on September 13, 2015 at the Turkey Creek Golf Club in Lincoln, California. In a bold and now universally praised move, the Golf Committee approved a tournament "co-hosting" arrangement with the 2018 Sacramento Lady Barons basketball team. Although each tournament maintained fiscal independence, the two organizations shared many mutual benefits. At the risk of sounding like a 90s corporate retreat leader, I will say the outcome was indeed the synergistic: 1 + 1 > 2. In addition to the expected headcount increase (which by itself resulted in a tangible gift certificate benefit for each of the 100 or so golfers), there was undoubtedly an added intangible present-- a bit more energy, a bit more vibe, and really, just a bit more fun. So how did this come to be, you ask? How would Lady Barons and Barrister Golfers ever get together anyway? Well, just so happens that a Golf Committee dad, who has a Lady Baron daughter, had a "what if" moment. Need I say more? Sometimes things just fall into place and work out for all involved. Already there is talk of doing it again next year. Enough of the back story. On to the bragging rights and thank yous.

In The Money

Top prize in the Championship Division went to the Sean Wong sponsored foursome of Greg Bisi, Chip Dahl, Tom Bacon and Russ White. Russ White also stroked out the men’s longest drive. The McGeorge assembled team of Prof. Edward Telfeyan, Eurik O’Bryant, Tim Adams and Patrick Lewis posted the low score to garner top honors in the President’s Division. Brad Bates, Arcenio Reyes, Anthony Dee and Steve Kushida of Team Hana Brophy earned the Director’s Division win. Deb McSherry of Team Paik/McSherry won the women’s longest drive accolades and prize. On course conditions were near perfect as a slight breeze and cloud cover kept temperatures mild.

The Fabulous Clay Awards

A highlight of the awards luncheon was the presentation of the coveted Clay Awards (named after awards benefactor Prof. Clay Tanaka). Because these awards recognize extraordinary individual achievement and personal sacrifice for the good of the game, they are highly prized and bestowed upon only a select few. And this year’s winners are: “Most Energetic Golfer” - Josh Birdsill. “Best Practice Golfer” - Patrick Lewis. “Almost Champion” - Darrell Woo. “Most Heroic Golfer” - Jinnifer Pitcher. A good time was had by all.

Penultimate Thank You

Led by Golf Committee Chair Jeri Paik, committee members, Eric Dair, Lisa Ventura, Sean Wong and Clay Tanaka worked tirelessly to secure sponsors, round-up foursomes and tend to the many details in preparation for this year's event. Foundation board members Toso Himel, Henry Nanjo and Josh Kaizuka were on hand on tournament day to lend assistance, as were volunteers Brenda Liang (McGeorge APALSA President) and Steve Vong (UC Davis Law Student and ABAS Scholarship recipient). Many thanks go out to them all for a fine tournament of fun golf and great fundraising.

Ultimate Thank You

Lastly and certainly the most---  sincere thanks and debts of gratitude to our many golfers and sponsors (please see the sponsor list on the ABAS Law Foundation website)—some of whom have been supporters since the tournament’s inception 27 Invitationals ago and some of whom are new this year. The ABAS Law Foundation community thanks each one of you, kindly—you make this all happen.

For more information about the 2015 Golf Invitational or interest in the 2016 event, please contact Jeri Paik at